The brain is not only receiving and processing inputs from the external environment through the senses, it is also bombarded with internal information from the body, in particular from visceral organs that are constantly active, such as the heart and the gastro-intestinal tract.

Subjectivity, Brain and Viscera

Do visceral inputs impact brain dynamics and behavior in humans? More specifically, we develop and test the hypothesis that the neural monitoring of visceral inputs generates an egocentric reference frame for sensory and cognitive information processing, from which the fist-person perspective inherent to conscious mental life can develop.

 

We use brain imaging (MEG, EEG, fMRI in healthy participants, intracranial EEG in epileptic patients) and various physiological measures of the heart and the stomach, in behavioral paradigms or during resting state.

The group hosts international students and post-doctoral fellows with various backgrounds, from engineering to cognitive neuroscience and experimental psychology or philosophy, with an active policy to maintain gender balance. The group is supported by the European Research Council (ERC Advanced Grant), the Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR), the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR), Inserm and Ecole Normale Supérieure.

Le cerveau reçoit beaucoup d'informations en provenance du monde extérieure par les sens, mais il est aussi bombardé d'informations internes en provenance du corps, en particulier d'organes viscéraux constamment actifs comme le cœur ou le système gastro-intestinal.

 

Subjectivity, Brain and Viscera

Est-ce que les signaux en provenance des viscères influencent la dynamique cérébrale et le comportement chez l'Homme? Plus spécifiquement, nous développons et testons l'hypothèse que le monitoring des entrées viscérales génère, au niveau cérébral, un référentiel égocentré, à partir duquel la perspective en première personne, intrinsèque à l'expérience consciente, peut se développer.

Nous utilisons l'imagerie cérébrale (MEG, EEG, IRMf chez les sujets sains, EEG intracérébral chez les patients épileptiques) and différentes mesures physiologiques du cœur et de l'estomac, pendant des tâches comportementales ou lorsque les sujets sont au repos.

 

Le groupe accueille des étudiants internationaux et des post-docs de formation diverses, des sciences de l'ingénieur aux neurosciences cognitives, de la psychologie expérimentale à la philosophie, avec une politique active d'équilibre des genres. Le groupe est soutenu financièrement par le European Research Council (ERC), l'Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR), l'Institut Canadien de Recherches Avancées (ICRA), l'Inserm et l'Ecole Normale Supérieure.